Four members of the National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL) namely, National Scientist (NS) Ramon C. Barba, NS Angel C. Alcala, NS Edgardo D. Gomez and NS Gavino C. Trono, made the list of top scientists in Asia, which was released by The Asian Scientist Magazine (ASM) as an initiative to raise awareness of the quality research in Asia.

National Scientist Ramon C. Barba ranked 3rd on the list. Dr. Barba was conferred as national scientist in 2014 for the mango flowering induction technology he developed that allows the year-round production of mango. He also pioneered the tissue culture of banana and sugarcane for micropropagation.

National Scientist Angel C. Alcala who was ranked 7th, was named as national scientist in 2014 for his outstanding contribution to the systematics, ecology, and diversity of amphibians and reptiles as well as the conversation of marine-protected areas.

National Scientist Edgardo D. Gomez is recognized for his pioneering contributions to invertebrate biology and ecology and giant clam culture and restoration, and coral reef assessment and conservation, for which he was conferred as national scientist in 2014 and eventually secured him the 9th spot in the top 100 in Asia.

National Scientist Gavino C. Trono Jr. ranked 12th for his contributions and accomplishment in tropical marine phycology particularly on seaweed biodiversity, taxonomy, culture, and ecology. He was conferred as national scientist in 2014.

Another Filipino scientist who made it to the list was Dr. alfredo Mahar Lagmay, executive director of the Department of Science and Technology Nationwide Operational Assessment of Hazards (Project NOAH). He received the 2015 Plinius Medal from the European Geosciences Union for his research on natural hazards and disasters in the Philippines.

The rank and title of national scientist is the highest award accorded to Filipino scientists bestowed by the Philippine government. NAST PHL, through the Presidential Decree 1003-A, is mandated to recognize outstanding achievement in science and technology and provide meaningful incentives to those engaged in scientific and technological researches.