The National Academy of Science and Technology Philippines (NAST PHL) admitted two Academicians and one Corresponding Member during the its 39th Annual Scientific Meeting which was held at the Manila Hotel on 13 July 2017.

Cesar L. Villanoy, Ph.D.  (Physical Oceanography)  and Raymond Girard R. Tan, Ph.D. (Mechanical Engineering) were admitted as Academicians while Carlito B. Lebrilla, Ph.D. (Chemistry) was admitted as Corresponding Member.

NAST also presented the following awards: Outstanding Young Scientists (OYS), NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists,  Outstanding Books, Outstanding Scientific Papers, and Best Scientific Posters.

The Outstanding Young Scientists award was given to: PHILLIP A. ALVIOLA, M.S. (Wildlife Studies),  ALETTA CONCEPCION T. YÑIGUEZ, Ph.D. (Marine Biology and Fisheries),  LANNDON A. OCAMPO, Ph.D. (Industrial Engineering), MARIO ANTONIO L. JIZ II, Ph.D.(Medical Science), NATHANIEL P. HERMOSA II, Ph.D. (Physics), JEFFREY S. PEREZ, M. Engineering (Civil and Environmental Engineering), JAYEEL S. CORNELIO, Ph.D. (Sociology), and KRISTA DANIELLE S. YU, Ph.D. (Economics).

The NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists awardee was JONATHAN CARLO A. BRIONES, Ph.D. (Biological Sciences). Also awarded were RAFAEL  A. ESPIRITU, Ph.D. (Chemistry) and ARGEL A. BANDALA, Ph.D.  (Electronics and Communications Engineering). Special citations were given to RAMON CHRISTIAN P. EUSEBIO, Ph.D. (Environmental Engineering) and JERROLD M. TUBAY, D.Sc. (Mathematical and System Engineer).

The NAST Outstanding Book Award for 2017 was given to the Encyclopedia of Common Medicinal Plants of the Philippines, Volume 1, with the following co-authors: Domingo A. Madulid, Esperanza Maribel A. Agoo, Isidro C. Sia, Myrna L. Abello, Rita Grace Y. Alvero, Maria Minerva P. Callimag, Anne Josephine C. Quitain, Irene M. Villaseñor, Maribel G. Nonato, Rene Angelo S. Macahig and Fabian M. Dayrit. The Encyclopedia was published by the Philippine Institute of Traditional and Alternative Health Care in 2014.

The NAST Outstanding Scientific Paper Awards were given to the following: (1) “Comparative Analysis of MADS-Box Genes Involved in Fruit Ripening of Philippine Banana Cultivars (Musa acuminata Colla and Musa balbisiana Colla)” (by Laarni Grace M. Corales, Evelyn Mae Tecson-Mendoza and Eureka Teresa M. Ocampo);  (2) “Quantitative Trait Loci for High-Temperature Tolerance in Rice (Oryza sativa L.)”  (by Jupiter L. Grospe, Evaristo A. Abella and Norvie L. Manigbas) and (3) “Grain and Starch Properties of Waxy and Low-Apparent Amylose Philippine Rices and of NSIC Rc222” (by Arvin Paul P. Tuaño, Noriaki Aoki, Naoko Fujita, Naoko F. Oitome, Florinia E. Merca and Bienvenido O. Juliano).

The Best Scientific Poster Awards were given to the top posters in each division. For the Agricultural Sciences Division, the awadees were: (1) “Rapid Bioassay for Pesticide Residues (RBPR) for Detection of Residues on Vegetables and Fruits” by Cristina Bajet, John Julius Manuben, Eric Jhon Cruz, and Jasper Sarmiento, (2.a) “Developmental Competence of Embryos Produced in Vitro From High and Low-Fertile Bulls Classified by Fourier Harmonic Analysis” by Herren Donna Miguel Daag, Leo S. Laruan, Romel Raterta, Peregrino G. Duran and Danilda Hufana-Duran, (2.b) “Efficiency of Fourier Harmonic Analysis in Classifying Bulls According to Fertility: In Vitro Fertilization Assay” by Danilda Hufana-Duran, Herren Donna Miguel Daag, Matt Daniel Peralta, Emma Venturina, Felomino V. Mamuad, Peregrino G. Duran, Fe Venturina, Hernando Venturina and John Parrish. The winners for Biological Sciences Division were: (1) “Assessing the Marine Fouling Community in a Man-made Marina at Manila Bay” by Melody Anne B. Ocampo, Ian Wilburt Oliva, Romenna Tan, Glenn Sia Su, Benjamin Vallejo Jr. and Leanna Manubag, (2) “Biodiversity Inventory and Assessment in Balinsasayao Twin Lakse Natural Park, Negros Oriental” by Victor B. Amoroso, Fulgent P. Cortico, Abner A. Bucol, Lowell G. Aribal and Ely L. Alcala. For the Engineering Sciences and Technology, the winners were: (1) “Efficient Blockchain-Based Authentication fot the Internet of Things” by Nestor Micahel C. Tiglao, Joanne Marie V. Santos and Jeanne Eunice V. Pascua, (2) “Piña-Polyester Fabric With Various Electroactive Materials as Supercapacitor Electrodes” by Felicidad Christina R. Ramirez, David Joseph G. Alzate, Stephanie L. Chua and Christina Binag. For Mathematical and Physical Sciences, the winner was “Device Fabrication and Performance Evaluation of a Potentiometric MIP-Based Sensor for Clenbuterol” by Yasmin D.G. Edanol, Kim Marie D. Sisican, Zyra Garce C. Zaragoza and Susan D. Arco. For the Social Sciences Division, the winner  was  “Gender Vulnerability and Coping Mechanisms to Climate Change for Rice Farming Households in Northern Philippines” by Maria Rosario C. Garvida, Floramante C. Pastor and Antonio R. Farinas.

The 2016 TWAS Prize for Young Scientists in the Philippines and Magsaysay Future Engineers/ Technologists (MFET) Awards were also presented during the awarding ceremony. The TWAS Prize winner was Manuel Joseph C. Loquias (University of the Philippines Diliman), while the MFET first prize awardee is Jacqueline S. De Vera and special citations were given to Ben Joseph J. Harder, Victor J. Lau, Jr.,  Gregory Emmanuel J. Mendoza, and Danica Mitch M. Pacis.

NAST was established in 1976 through a Presidential Decree with the mandate to recognize distinguished Filipino scientists, as well as outstanding publications and scientific papers.