The National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines announces the appointment of Academician (Acd.) Rhodora V. Azanza as its new president, effective June 1 this year.
Acd. Azanza was elected to the Academy in 2009 for her significant contributions in the field of biology and ecology of harmful microalgae, specifically her pioneering studies on the toxic dinoflagellate species responsible for paralytic shellfish poisoning in the Philippines.
Acd. Azanza has the distinction of being the first woman dean of the University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman, College of Science (2000-2006). She is also the immediate past Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs (Linkages) and director of the Office International Linkages of the UP System. She has extended her expertise to government agencies and international organizations, concurrently being the vice-chairman of UNESCO-Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) Panel on Harmful Algal Blooms (IPHAB) and leader of IOC’s Harmful Algal Blooms in Southeast Asia (HABSEA) Portal and e-learning for 7 years.
She obtained her BS Botany from the Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila in 1972, MS Botany and PhD Botany from the UP Diliman in 1979 and 1986, respectively.
Acd. William G. Padolina, immediate past president, has served the Academy from October 20, 2012 - May 26, 2016 and August 1, 2017 - May 31, 2018.