BICUTAN, TAGUIG CITY – The National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL) will hold the Paper Presentation and Awarding Ceremony of the 2022 Magsaysay Future Engineers/Technologist (MFET) Award on December 02, 2022, Friday, 8:00 AM at the Acacia Hotel, Alabang, Muntinlupa City. For this year, five (5) nominees are vying for the highly coveted award.

This year’s nominees and their entry papers are:

  • Clarice Ann A. Arrieta, BS Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (University of the Philippines Los Baños) - “Geographic Information System (GIS)-Based Assessment of Water Quality in Sual Mariculture Zone, Pangasinan, Philippines”
  • Lormaine Anne A. Branzuela, BS Chemical Engineering (University of the Philippines Los Baños) - “Virtual Process Hazard Analysis (PHA) of Bataan Nuclear Power Plant (BNPP) using What-If Technique”
  • Robby Andre T. Ching, BS Chemical Engineering (De La Salle University-Manila) - “Drying Kinetics Study of Medicinal Plants Used in Diabetes Treatment”
  • Mark Rudan C. Consular, BS Chemical Engineering (University of the Philippines Visayas) - “Artificial Neural Network Based Surrogate Modelling for Optimization of an Industrial Batch Fermentation Process”
  • Garret Wilkenson C. Sia, BS/MS Civil Engineering (De La Salle University-Manila) - “Numerical Investigation on the Effect of Infill Walls and the Short Column Effect on the Structural Performance of Reinforced Concrete Frames”

The winners of this award will receive plaques of recognition from the Academy. The First Prize winner is also entitled to a Php 100,000 cash incentive, while the Second Prize and Third Prize winner will receive Php 50,000 and Php 30,000, respectively. The Special Citation will get Php 10,000 cash incentive.

As one of Department of Science and Technology (DOST) institutional awards, MFET aims to recognize outstanding research outputs on engineering and technology at the collegiate level and to encourage young Filipino students to pursue a career in science.
December 2, 2022 (Friday) | 8:00 AM | Acacia Hotel, Alabang, Muntinlupa City