BICUTAN, TAGUIG CITY –The National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL) will hold the NAST Environmental Science Award Paper Presentation and Awarding Ceremony and NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists Paper Presentation on April 21, 2023, at the Eastwood Richmonde Hotel, Quezon City.

The NESA is intended to recognize outstanding scientific and technological research works that have significant contributions to environmental protection and conservation in the country. NESA was first launched in 2001 as part of the celebration of World Earth Day and as the Academy’s answer to the rapid pace of environmental degradation and the possible eventual depletion of natural resources. Spearheaded by the efforts of the late NAST PHL President and National Scientist Perla D. Santos Ocampo, this award was established through the help of Dr. Hugh Greenwood, a philanthropist, and founder of the Children’s Research Fund in the United States. This award was formerly called NAST-Hugh Greenwood Environmental Science Award.

The winner will receive a plaque of recognition and a cash prize of One Hundred Fifty Thousand Pesos (Php150,000.00) from NAST PHL and will also be entitled to the DOST Secretary’s Grant for Environment from the Department of Science and Technology in the amount of PHP 2 Million upon approval of a research proposal.

The recipient of the 2023 NAST Environmental Science Award is Dranreb Earl O. Juanico, PhD (Physics) from the Technological Institute of the Philippines. He was awarded for his assessment study of the coastal protection potential of mangroves by examining the “bio-shielding” effect against storm surges driven by category-5 winds in two coastal sites—Tacloban, Leyte, and Pan de Azucar, Iloilo. The study may help settle policy-oriented debates on whether governments, especially in the Philippines and Southeast Asia, must invest massively in coastal mangrove restoration for long-term community benefits.

The program will be participated by DOST Secretary Renato U. Solidum Jr., DENR Secretary Maria Antonia Yulo-Loyzaga, Academician Jaime C. Montoya, President of NAST PHL, and the members of the NESA Board of Judges headed by Academician Rhodora V. Azanza.

Afterward, seven (7) finalists will present their entry paper for the 2023 NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists. They are:

  • Michael T. Castro, MS (Chemical Engineering) from the University of the Philippines Diliman,

  • Jayson G. Cosme, PhD (Physics) from the University of the Philippines Diliman,

  • Neil Jerome A. Egarguin, PhD (Mathematics) from the University of the Philippines Los Baños,

  • Ivan Henderson V. Gue, PhD (Mechanical Engineering) from De La Salle University,

  • John Paul Matthew D. Guzman, MS (Microbiology) from DOST-Industrial Technology Development Institute,

  • Ann Franchesca B. Laguna, PhD (Computer Science and Engineering) from De La Salle University, and

  • Charlon A. Ligson, MS (Marine Science) from the University of the Philippines Diliman.

The NTSYS is a project of the Academy to encourage young people to pursue a career in science. Started in 1991, the award was formerly called the Philippine Talent Search for Young Scientists, which serves as a pool of awardees where NAST PHL selects possible nominees for the ASEAN awards.

Plaques and cash prizes will be awarded as well. The first prize winner will receive P100,000, the second prize winner will receive P50,000, the third prize winner will receive 30,000, and the Special Citations will receive P10,000. The first prize winner is entitled to a research grant worth P500,000 from the DOST for an approved research proposal.

This year’s Chair of the Board of Judges is National Scientist Raul V. Fabella. Its members are Academician Ruben L. Villareal, Academician Jose Maria P. Balmaceda, Academician Carmencita D. Padilla, Academician William T. Torres Academician Gisela P. Concepcion, and DOST Undersecretary Maridon O. Sahagun.

For more details, you may visit the NAST PHL official Facebook page, @nastphl.